eCPM vs CPM | Differences, Formula and How to Calculate? (2024)

eCPM and CPM are one of the most common monetization metrics out there. However, publishers often get confused about which one to look at when assessing the performance of their ad campaigns.

We have compiled the main differences regarding eCPM and CPM with specific examples.

Let’s dive in!

What is CPM?

CPM stands for cost-per-thousand impressions, or “Cost Per Mille”. It’s a fixed price advertisers bid or pay for each 1000 ad impressions. For publishers, CPM represents the revenue generated from these 1000 ad impressions.

The CPM price is usually high if the website’s traffic is valuable meaning advertisers will be willing to pay more for your ad impressions.

CPM Formula

The formula for CPM is the total cost of an ad campaign divided by the number of ad impressions and multiplied by 1000.

eCPM vs CPM | Differences, Formula and How to Calculate? (1)

How to calculate CPM?

To make the CPM calculation formula more understandable, let’s look at the example.

Let’s imagine that the publisher earned 1000€ by selling 1M ad impressions to a particular advertiser. The calculated CPM would be 1€. This means that the publisher will earn 1€ for every 1000 ad impressions he sells to that advertiser.

(1000€ / 1M) x 1000 = 1€ (CPM)

What is eCPM?

eCPM stands for effective cost-per-thousand impressions, or effective “Cost Per Mille”. Both eCPM and CPM illustrate the ad revenue generated by the publisher from 1000 ad impressions.

The main difference is that eCPM is the average of multiple CPMs. Because many advertisers are bidding on each ad impression with different CPMs, the price isn’t fixed. eCPM gives you the combined average of all advertiser bids for your ad impressions.

Some of your ad inventory can even be purchased via different bidding models, for example, CPC.Therefore, eCPM helps to learn how much you can earn across all bidding models. The higher the eCPM, the higher the total ad revenue for the publisher.

Related Article: How to Increase Ad Revenue | Success Formula and Proven Solutions

eCPM Formula

The formula to calculate eCPM (effective cost per thousand impressions) is:

eCPM = (Total Earnings / Total Impressions) x 1000

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How to calculate eCPM?

To calculate eCPM, you need to divide the total earnings by the total number of impressions and then multiply the result by 1000.

The eCPM is a useful metric that helps publishers and advertisers understand the revenue generated per thousand impressions, regardless of the pricing model used (CPM, CPC, CPA, etc.). It’s a valuable metric for optimizing ad performance and comparing ad revenue across different campaigns or ad networks.

Here’s an example. Let’s imagine that there were two campaigns on the publisher’s website.

The CPM for the first campaign was 1€ and the CPM for the second was 0.20€. Each campaign bought 1000 ad impressions.

In this case, the publisher generated total revenue of 1.2€ (1€ + 0.20€) per 2000 (1000 + 1000) ad impressions. Therefore, the eCPM is 0.60€ (1.2€ / 2000 x 1000= 0.60€).

eCPM vs CPM | Differences, Formula and How to Calculate? (4)

As you may notice, none of the buyers paid a CPM of 0.60€. The eCPM metric helped the publisher to understand the average value of his 2000 ad impressions.

Instead of ad campaigns, different SSPs or ad networks can monetize parts of publishers’ ad inventory with a different rate of eCPM. Whether you call it eCPM or CPM, you need to understand and calculate the average value of your sold inventory.

What is the Difference Between CPM and eCPM?

The main difference between CPM and eCPM is that CPM shows the advertiser’s cost of 1000 ad impressions, while eCPM shows how much ad revenue the publisher has generated on average from 1000 ad impressions.

eCPM vs CPM | Differences, Formula and How to Calculate? (5)

Let’s look at one more example to better understand the main difference between eCPM and CPM.

Example of eCPM and CPM

Imagine that you have a store that sells kiwis (ad inventory). These kiwis represent ad impressions. Since kiwis can go bad, you want to sell them as fast as possible at the highest price possible.

Let’s say you have 10 kiwis in your storage, and each kiwi represents 1M ad impressions. In total, this gives you 10M ad impressions.

Since your kiwis are the best in your town, you sold the first 5 kiwis (5M ad impressions) almost immediately for the CPM price of 1€. This gave you an ad revenue of 5000€.

(5 000 000 /1 000 x 1€ = 5000€)

Then you sold 4 more kiwis (4M ad impressions) for the CPM of 0.20€, which gave you ad revenue of 800€ (4 000 000 /1 000 x 0.20€ = 800€).

Unfortunately, you couldn’t sell the last kiwi because it went bad.

In total, you sold 9 fresh kiwis and earned 5800€ (5000€ + 800€ = 5800€).

In this case, your eCPM would be your total ad revenue (5800€) divided by the total number of ad impressions you sold (9M), giving you an eCPM of 0.64€.

(5800€ / 9M x 1000 = 0.64€)

❗Bear in mind that eCPM doesn’t represent the 10M ad impressions you initially had in total, but only the 9M you sold.

This means you earned on average 0.64€ for every 1000 ad impressions you sold.

Conclusion

As we learned, high CPMs don’t always equal high ad revenue. Neither do they represent the overall value of your sold ad inventory.

Our examples reveal that publishers should focus on eCPM to monitor their overall ad revenue.

In addition, other metrics, like fill rate and rCPM, are very useful in assessing the overall website monetization performance. Continue to learn about them here.But before that, sign up to start monetizing your website with Setupad!

About Alise Zaiceva

eCPM vs CPM | Differences, Formula and How to Calculate? (7)

Alise is a content marketing manager at Setupad. She’s passionate about content and helping publishers scale their businesses through powerful digital marketing strategies. In her free time, she expands her knowledge of tech.

View all posts by Alise Zaiceva

eCPM vs CPM | Differences, Formula and How to Calculate? (2024)

FAQs

ECPM vs CPM | Differences, Formula and How to Calculate? ›

To calculate CPM, you would need to divide the total cost of the ad campaign by the number of impressions generated and then multiply it by 1000. Whereas eCPM is all about the revenue generated from the advertising campaigns irrespective of the pricing model used there, CPM is a pricing model.

What is the formula for calculating CPM? ›

To calculate your CPM rate, you need to take the total cost of your online advertising divided by the total number of impressions and times 1000. For example, if your ad campaign costs you $500 for 100 000 impressions, your CPM would be $5.

What is the formula for comparing CPM? ›

The formula for CPM in advertising is ( [Ad Spend] / [Impressions] ) * 1,000. You divide the cost of a campaign by the number of impressions, then multiply the result by 1,000. How do you calculate impressions? Impressions in advertising are the number of times an ad was shown or played.

What is the difference between CMP and eCPM? ›

CPM represents the revenue publishers earn for every 1,000 website ad impressions. eCPM (Effective Cost Per Mille/Effective Cost Per Thousand) takes into account all the different campaigns running on the publisher's inventory, including CPM (cost per mille), CPC (cost per click), and CPL (cost per lead) campaigns.

What is the formula for eCPM in Excel? ›

eCPM = (total earnings/total impressions) x 1,000. To calculate eCPM, divide your total advertising earnings by the total number of impressions your app served. Then multiply by 1,000.

How is CPM determined? ›

‍CPM = Ad spend/impressions * 1,000

While campaign analysts and strategists now have a wealth of data and metrics available to measure total impressions—digital views, user engagement, and ad effectiveness—the industry standard CPM still has many benefits for advertisers looking to track their ad impressions.

What is CPM and its formula? ›

CPM is calculated using this formula: Total campaign spend ÷ Number of impressions × 1,000. CPM varies considerably across industries and platforms, and is also influenced by location and seasonal factors. This means it's best to focus on the value of your impressions, rather than aiming for an “average” CPM.

What is calculated in CPM? ›

What is CPM? Cost per mille, or cost per thousand, is a calculation of the total ad spend per thousand ad impressions during a marketing campaign. Those impressions refer to the views and engagements that an ad receives.

What is a good CPM rate? ›

Recent research shows that the average CPM for Google Display Ads is $3.12, Google Search Ads is $38.40, and Facebook Ads is $8.60. If your CPM is below industry averages, then you can assume that your ads are performing well.

Why is an eCPM higher than CPM? ›

The main difference is that eCPM is the average of multiple CPMs. Because many advertisers are bidding on each ad impression with different CPMs, the price isn't fixed. eCPM gives you the combined average of all advertiser bids for your ad impressions.

How do I check my eCPM? ›

eCPM stands for effective cost per mille. It's a metric used by app publishers to show how much revenue they achieved across all their ad impressions. To calculate eCPM, take your total earnings, divide it by your total number of impressions, and multiply by 1000.

What is an example of eCPM? ›

eCPM Example A:

A banner ad in a mobile game reaches 100,000 impressions and generates $150 in revenues for the app publisher. This means that the mobile game publisher earns $1.50 for every 1,000 ad impressions.

How do you calculate CPM counts? ›

In short, the formula for calculating your CPM is ad cost divided by the result of dividing your impressions by 1000.

How do you calculate source CPM? ›

You can find a CPM for a campaign: CPM = Total Campaign Spend ÷ Number of Impressions X 1,000.

What is the formula for net CPM? ›

First, determine the gross CPM ($/1000 impressions). Next, determine the average CPM loss. Next, gather the formula from above = NCPM = GCPM – CPML. Finally, calculate the Net Cpm.

How do you value CPM? ›

To calculate the CPM, divide the total cost of the campaign by the total number of impressions. Since CPM represents the Cost per Thousand impressions, multiply that quotient by 1,000.

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